The main building, built during the 43rd year of the Meiji Era in 1910, used as the meeting hall of the Chikuho Coal Mining Union, is now being used as a memorial hall showcasing the history of coal mining in the Chikuho region (considered a Nogata City Tangible Cultural Property). Within the establishment, photos and paintings; models of steam locomotives, a large drilling machine, and other numerous important artifacts, are also displayed.
In addition, a mine tunnel built by the Chikuho Coal Mining Union and once used as practice tunnel for the rescue team in the event that a mining disaster takes places and rescue and recovery operations of trapped victims would come up (used from 1912 to 1936), still remains intact to tell the hundred-year-old history of the importance of coal mining in the area.
9:00 to 17:00 (5:00 PM) (Entrance to the establishment is until 16:30 / 4:30 PM)
General Admission: JPY 100
University/High School Students: JPY 50
Junior High School Students and younger: free admission
Available: 7 parking slots
・15 minutes on foot from the JR Nogata Station (Chikuho Main Line)
・20-minute drive from the Yahata IC exit of the Kyushu Expressway