As part of the dying will of feudal lord Kuroda Nagamasa, the Akizuki Castle was built in 1623, becoming the official residence of the succeeding feudal lords of Akizuki. The castle grounds itself is small and military camp-like. The Kuromon Gate which used to be the castle’s Otemon or front gate is now positioned as the entrance to Suiyo Shrine. The rear gate, Nagayamon, is the remaining structure in the ruins which can be found in its original position.
(Source: Cross Road Fukuoka)
(300 JPY for cars, 1000 JPY for microbuses, 2000 JPY for large buses)
・By bus - From Amagi Station on the Amagi Railway, take any bus bound for Akizuki (20 minute ride); get off at Kyodokan Mae bus stop (7 minute walk from there)
・By car - 20 minutes from the Amagi Interchange off the Oita Expressway
*Accessibility: Wheelchair-accessible bathrooms; guide dogs permitted; changing tables in bathrooms; automated voice guidance at Kuromon.